Xinjiang is located in the hinterland of the Eurasian continent, with a land border of more than 5,600 kilometers. It is bordered by Russia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Pakistan, Mongolia, India and Afghanistan. It is an important passageway of the ancient Silk Road in history. It is now the only place for the second “Eurasian Continental Bridge” and its strategic position is very important. There are 47 ethnic groups in Xinjiang. They mainly live in Han, Uygur, Kazakh, Hui, Mongolia, Kirgiz, Xibo, Tajik, Uzbek, Manchu, Daur, Tatar and Russia. They are one of the five autonomous regions of ethnic minorities in China.

Other Destinations in Xinjiang

Xinjiang Attractions

More Xinjiang Attractions >>

Xinjiang Tours

Climate & When to Go

More Xinjiang Climate & When to Go >>


More Xinjiang Transportation >>

Festivals and Activities

More Xinjiang Festivals and Activities >>

Travel Tips

More Xinjiang Travel Tips >>

Useful Maps

More Xinjiang Useful Maps >>

Xinjiang Accommodation

More Xinjiang Accommodation >>

Other Hot Destinations in China